Hotels and Lodging Properties

GS-33 establishes requirements for hotels and lodging properties. This standard does not include swimming pools, golf courses, or restaurants associated with the property. GS-33 has three levels under which a lodging property may apply for certification: bronze, silver, and gold. Since it was first published in 1999, GS-33 has represented leadership in the industry. Key Evaluation Categories:

  • waste minimization
  • energy conservation and management
  • management of fresh water resources and waste water management
  • pollution prevention
  • environmentally sensitive purchasing.

The standard also serves as a tool to help hotels and lodging properties consider practical steps for reducing the impacts of their operations.

Full Standard Apply Now


standard revisions

Latest version: Edition 5.3, June 6, 2017

Recent Changes: GS-33 underwent corrections and/or clarifications and was re-published on July 26, 2023. For details on the non-substantive changes made to this standard, please see the Standard Documents Library

Explore Certification Find Properties